Forum Description: General discussion on anything related to carpet cleaning
URL: https://www.kleenkuip.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=6678
Printed Date: 08/May/2024 at 12:16pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.06 - https://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Going to Start my Own Carpet Cleaning Business
Posted By: formula
Subject: Going to Start my Own Carpet Cleaning Business
Date Posted: 26/July/2010 at 8:03pm
Hi there everyone, I'm a total newby when it comes to carpet cleaning. I am going to begin my own carpet cleaning business in the the next 12 months and I'm in the process of researching the best way to get my business started and to make it profitable.
And of course, I am going to be taking the IICRC carpet cleaning technician course before I even spend my first dime starting my business.

I live in the Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada; I'm going to be starting with a Ninja 200psi with heat and will have a Dodge minivan to use for my business. Now, I have a couple of questions:

1) To get my business off the ground I would market heavily to apartment owners/managers. I would offer them a free demo of my skills and equipment capability; I will also use kijiji and Craiglist exentsively to get customers. My goal here is to work my past clients very intensively and seek referrals from all of my customers; I want a business that is built upon past clients and referrals. I don't like the idea of spending money on advertising and fliers and that sort of thing. Besides your equipment, I just don't believe that you can 'buy' your way into success in this business. Does this particular marketing plan appear to be a practical method of gaining a repeatable and sustainable business?